The Perfect Gingersnap

One of my favorite cookies, is a nice soft gingersnap.  I generally reserve this cookie for Christmas time, but last night I had some friends over for dinner and one of them reminded me how much he loved the gingersnaps I made him in December.  I haven’t stopped thinking about them.  They have the most wonderful chewy texture and when you roll them in sugar the outside has the perfect crunch!  Why wait until December?  Try these today!





Chewy Gingersnaps

2 cups flour (sifted)                       3/4 cup shortening
2 tsp baking soda                          1 cup sugar
1 tsp ginger                                     4 Tbsp molasses
1 tsp cloves                                      1 egg
1 tsp cinnamon

Sift together flour, baking soda, ginger, cloves and cinnamon. Set aside. Cream shortening. Add sugar, egg, and molasses. Beat well. Add flour mixture and beat until smooth.  Mixture will be very stiff. Take a teaspoon full of mixture, roll into a ball, then roll in sugar.  Bake on greased cookie sheet for 10 to 12 minutes at 350 degrees!

3 Responses to “The Perfect Gingersnap”

  1. Shauna Says:

    How fun Jennefer! I didn't know you'd started a business….I love the name! I was going to email you and let you know how yummy the cookies were that you made for us yesterday–thank you! And thank you for sharing your Gingersnap recipe! I owe my daughter some Snickerdoodles–do you have a good recipe for those?! (I was confusing those with Gingersnaps and was going to say I'd try your recipe and send them to her in OR. She asked me to make them when I was there last April when she had her baby, but it never happened!) I probably need to buy a bottle of fresh molasses–how long does it keep or stay fresh enough for the cookies?

  2. Loraine Says:

    These do sound yummy. I dont' like crunchy gingersnaps but I do like chewy so I will probably make these…or you could send me some LOL just because. Congrats on your new adventure. And the molasses should stay fresh for years… it will get moldy when bad much like syrup. Heat it to a soft boil if too stiff or sugary then it will work again or if you are worried about it cook it longer. It should last for years…..

  3. Linda Says:

    We love soft gingersnaps, can't wait to try them. You'll soon find The Sugar Moon listed on MaddieKay Creations.

Leave a Reply

