5 Things Every Baker Needs

Just like everything else we do, the right tools can make all the difference in how the job turns out.  All you sewers, and woodworkers out there will understand this.  Using the right tool for the job is key.  Baking is the same.  Using the right tool can make your good treats excellent!

So do you want to make your sweet even more scrumptious?  Here is my list of the top five things every serious baker needs in order to make the most delectable delights!! (In no particular order).

This is my first item…a Kitchenaid Mixer.  Of course you can use any standing mixer out there, but I am partial to this one.  My mom had one that I used growing up and I’ve had my own (the same one) for 15 years and it’s still going strong, showing no signs of wearing out anytime soon.  But a standing mixer is a definite must in my book.  The consistancy you can get with an electric mixer is something that cannot be taken for granted in the world of baking.  It is versital and quick.  (Here’s a trick too… have two bowls and two paddles!  For baking mulitiple things at once, it makes life so easy!)

This little beauty is a new addition to my kitchen.  I’ve always used a cuisinart, but this is like no other cuisinart around. It is a Williams-Sonoma exclusive (my home-away-from-home). I got this from my husband for Christmas this past year.  It is amazing.  I’ve always made pie crusts and other doughs in my food processor, but this Cuisinart does so much more and it is even easier to use!  I just made a batch of delicious blueberry scones for a customer and mixed them perfectly in the 10-inch nesting bowl.  I’m telling you, if you are a fan of the food processor, you need one of these! Sometimes I just look at it on my counter and sigh with joy!

Does this surprise you?  A whisk…just an ordinary french whisk in my top five?  It is very ordinary, but in baking I’ve found there is no better tool for mixing dry ingredients.  I use my mini french whisk the most.  It is the perfect size to really blend evenly.


Does anyone else laugh when a recipe calls for a greased cookie sheet?  I do!  I haven’t had to spray a cookie sheet since the Silpat was invented.  Truly nothing sticks to it and cookies come out perfect every time.  They are easy to clean and I store them right on the cookie sheets.

And here is the final item on my list: a cookie scoop!  It makes your cookies or even truffles easy to get out of the bowl and a tray of evenly sized goodies always looks prettier.  You can get these in multiple sizes.  Scoop out your dough and then throw it in the dishwasher.  The days of two teaspoons is over!  Today is the day of the cookie scoop!

So what do you think?  What would be on your list?

3 Responses to “5 Things Every Baker Needs”

  1. lynne Says:

    Not that I need another thing to enable my cookie-making problem, but I think I need to invest in one of those dough scoops.My new favorite kitchen thing is belgian Descoware… you have to buy them on ebay – they are vintage le creuset pots (le creuset bought descoware a long time ago) and they are so beautiful and work so fabulously…

  2. Jen Says:

    Perfect list! I LOVE the idea of having two bowls and paddles for the Kitchen Aid! I have a cookie scoop too. Your chocolate peanut butter cookies were shaped perfectly. They almost looked like little chocolate scoops of ice cream. How cute to attach them to an ice cream cone for a “cookie cone”.
    Jen

  3. Liz Says:

    Great list! No wonder my baking leaves much to be desired! Just in case you are wondering what to post next… I’d love a good peanut butter cookie recipe.

Leave a Reply

