Yummy and Low-fat!

I discovered a new recipe today that is easy, delicious and low-fat!

It’s a Lemon Pudding Cake.

If you’ve never had one before it’s just as the name implies ~ a cross between a pudding and a cake!  The top is fluffy and cake like and the bottom is soft and pudding like.  Here’s the recipe:

3/4 cup granulated sugar

1/3 cup all purpose flour

3 large eggs, separated

2 Tbsp unsalted butter at room temperature

1 cup skim milk

5 Tbsp fresh lemon juice

1 tsp finely grated lemon zest

1/4 tsp salt

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Spray six 6-ounce ramekins with non-stick cooking spray.  In a bowl, whisk together the sugar and flour.  In another bowl whisk together the egg yolks and butter. Add milk, lemon juice and lemon zest.  Pour into sugar/flour mixture and combine.  In an electric mixer whisk egg whites and salt until firm peaks form.  Then gently fold whites into batter. Pour into ramekins and place ramekins in a large baking dish.  Fill baking dish with hot water until the water reaches the middle of the sides of the ramekins.  Bake for 30-35 minutes until the tops begin to brown.  The more you bake them the less gooey the pudding part will be, so judge that according to your own taste. When finished cooking, immediately take the ramekins out of the water bath and cool on a wire rack for 20 minutes.  You can serve them warm or at room temperature. You can also make them ahead and store them in the  refrigerator for up to two days.

ENJOY!

9 Responses to “Yummy and Low-fat!”

  1. Carrie Says:

    you need to make this again! i loved it. the consistency was so good. but you should experiment with other flavors too. wouldn’t pumpkin be so yummy?!

  2. Grampa Scott Says:

    I want you to make one or more and send them to me along with the watch, so I can sample both.

  3. loraine Says:

    Sounds yummy…but I can’t do lemon. However, since I am now in charge of desserts at our branch (every other month) can this be made in aluminum cupcake pans? or spring form pans? I’d need to make 9 batches to get 50?
    Help?

    • thesugarmoon Says:

      You could make it in anything. The nice thing about this dessert is you can run a knife around the edge, take it out of the ramekin and serve it on a dish. For measuring sake, this recipe is pretty exact as far as filling six 6-ounce ramekins. There wasn’t any left over.

  4. Jen Says:

    I want this so bad right now! But I have no fresh lemons. Craving yummies!
    Jen

  5. loraine Says:

    I made it in the standard cupcake size aluminum ones and it made 12. They baked up really nice and were a hit with our company. but, question… when you added the lemon juice, did it curdle your milk? Mine did. I couldn’t get the lumps out. My company raved about them but sometimes it is hard to tell with company. I don’t know if the lumps came out????

    • Jennefer Haight Says:

      I didn’t get any lumps or curdling. I think that’s because I added the lemon at the end. The thought actually crossed my mind that lemon juice added to milk is a substitute for buttermilk. So I mixed in the lemon and added it right to my ramekins and put in the oven. Maybe that made a difference?

  6. Liz Says:

    Mmm. I love lemony treats.

Leave a Reply

