Can you Guess What Flavor?

This was an order I did for The Sugar Moon.  I made the cake and iced it, but besides wanting to add some pretty decorations to the top of the cake,  I think it’s a good idea to add a little visual queue as to what flavor your creations are.  When your brain anticipates a specific taste, it makes it that much more satisfying when your mouth gets it!  It’s like when you take a drink of milk, thinking it’s water.  It’s not that there is anything wrong with the milk, it’s just that your brain was registering that you were about to drink water and if makes the milk taste terrible!  I think it’s the same concept with flavor queues.

So of course you can guess the flavor of this cake.  The sugared cranberries and orange peel give it away!  Next time you make something yummy and the flavor isn’t obvious, consider adding a little touch of the thing that creates the flavor to use as decoration.  It will not only make your creations beautiful, but it will please your guests so much more!
6 Responses to “Can you Guess What Flavor?”

  1. Lynne Says:

    i had a taste of this cake – delicious and so lovely!

  2. Carrie Says:

    oh my goodness, i was so confused by this post because on my iPhone, the frosting looked green and the cranberries looked brown! must be something with the little screen. anyway, I thought it was a mint chocolate chip cake and then I was totally confused. now that i’m on my computer, it makes perfect sense. and I will second lynne’s comment because I too tried this cake and it was one of the best I’ve ever tasted I think!

  3. Jen Says:

    THIS CAKE has become my favorite cake! And it doesn’t even have chocolate! YUM, I woke up craving it this morning!
    Jen

  4. Liz Says:

    Very pretty

  5. kuriouskitteh Says:

    That’s a very cool tip about flavour cues!
    And also a very beautifully frosted cake!

    ~Kurious Kitteh

  6. sweetlife Says:

    great tip..lovely cake

    sweetlife

Leave a Reply

