The World’s Best Banana Bread!

One of the things I pride myself on in my baking life is my ability to find the best recipes.  I feel like I have a good “pallet” and I guess that’s one of the reasons my baking works.  So do not doubt me when I say…I have found the world’s best banana bread recipe (at least the best of all the ones I’ve tried so far).  It has a crispy texture on the outside and a soft banana-y inside.

I haven’t been eating sweets this week because of a contest with some friends.  So as my replacement (I know that’s not the point, but I had to do something), I made some banana bread yumminess and  although I won’t share the actual bread with you because I can actually eat all three MINI loaves myself, I am going to share the recipe with you!

Oh and if by some small chance someone out there tries this bread and thinks he/she has a better recipe, please send it to me.  I’d love to try it!

Old-Fashion Banana Bread

1 1/4 cups flour

1 tsp baking soda

pinch of salt

2 large eggs

1/2 cup canola oil

1 cup sugar

2 large, brown bananas!

In a large bowl of the mixer beat together the egg, oil, sugar and banana.  Add the flour, baking soda and salt.  Mix until combined.  Pour into either one 9×13 greased loaf pan or 3 small loaf pans.  Bake for 40-50 minutes at 350 degrees until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out  clean.  Take bread out of loaf pans onto a cooling rack.  Let it cool at least ten minutes an thenenjoy!

So easy!  And here’s a tip: If like me, you always end up with a few bananas well past the eating raw stage, take them out of the peel, cut them into large chunks and stick them in a freezer bag. Label how many bananas are in there and whenever you need bananas for any recipe you will have them ready to thaw and add.  When they defrost, you don’t even need to mash them.  They are soft enough to just throw them in the recipe!

One Response to “The World’s Best Banana Bread!”

  1. Leslie Says:

    I LOVE banana bread…your recipe is similar to mine. One thing I like to do is add a sprinkling of brown sugar on the top. It makes a yummy, sugary top! Not to mention it makes the loaf look pretty too!

Leave a Reply

