A Fun Spring Treat!

I don’t know if you are like me and are constantly going through magazines tearing out recipes that look wonderful and then never use them.  I can’t help it. I just love pictures of good food. The problem is I am the exact opposite of a hoarder!  I hate storing things.  It makes me happy when I get rid of something.  If I know my closets are cluttered it makes me anxious.  So when I noticed my recipe folder overflowing I had to start the weeding out process.

First, I just got rid of all the recipes that for whatever reason, I know I will never make. Then I made of pile of recipes that I’ve never tried, look good and would make.  I am going to try each and every one before it gets a permanent place in my recipe files!  This recipe was one of those. I got it in the mail from one of those mail order recipe collections as the free “we are trying to entice you” sample.  I kept it because it looked like it could be yummy, but for some reason never took the opportuntity to make!  We’ll I’m glad I did.   They are easy and delicious and they have a wonderful bar cookie texture.  The M&M’s add a special chocolatey sweetness to them.  They are a great spring treat, but since M&M’s come in different colors for different seasons, they would be a perfect treat for just about any occasion!

Double-Decker Confetti Brownies

3/4 cup (1 1/2 sticks) butter, softened

1 cup granulated sugar

1 cup firmly packed brown sugar

3 large eggs

1 tsp vanilla

2 1/2 cups all purpose flour, divided

2 1/2 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp salt

1/3 cup unsweetened cocoa powder

1 Tbsp butter, melted

1 cup M&M’s, divided

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Grease a 9×13 pan. In a large bowl, cream butter and sugars until light and fluffy. Add eggs and vanilla. In medium bowl combine 2 1/4 cups flour, baking powder, and salt ; blend into creamed mixture. Divide batter in half.  Blend together cocoa and melted butter; stir into one half of the dough. Spread cocoa dough evenly into prepared baking pan.  Stir remaining 1/4 cup flour and 1/2 cup M&M’s into remaining dough (do this by hand or the M&M’s will break into pieces); spread evenly over cocoa dough in pan. Sprinkle with remaining 1/2 cup M&M’s. Bake 25 to 30 minutes or until edges start to pull away from sides of pan. Cool completely!

I know that since these posts get emailed to you there is very little incentive to actually visit my blog, but I have added  new feature to the sidebar called “Random Baking Tips”.  Each week I post a new little helpful hint about baking that you just might not know!  This week’s tip will help these brownies and all others come out as beautiful as they are good!  Check it out!

Leave a Reply

