The Search For Chocolate Perfection (in a cookie)

I mentioned in a previous post that I am a recipe collector and accumulate way too many recipes that I will never use.  After cleaning out my stash and organizing them into beautiful Liberty of London binders, I am determined to make each and every recipe I’m saving.   I was thrilled to see that the next recipe in line for a trial run was this chocolate crinkle cookie.

I’ve been looking for the perfect chocolate cookie for a while.  I want a cookie with perfect texture and of course amazing taste.  Unfortunately, I have yet to be able to find that.  This one comes close, but I’m not sure I’ve ended my search.  Although, I do have to say that even though I am not a warm cookie person, these cookies were pretty perfect right out of the oven. They tasted like little molten cakes!  Give them a try and let me know what you think. And if you have the perfect chocolate cookie recipe please send it to me!

3/4 cup butter, melted

1/2 cup unsweetened cocoa powder

1 cup sugar

2 eggs

2 tsp vanilla extract

2 cups flour

1 tsp baking powder

1 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp salt

6 ounces mini semisweet chocolate chips

3/4 cup powdered sugar

In a large bowl mix together the melted butter, cocoa powder, and sugar. Whisk in the eggs and vanilla.  In a medium bowl, stir the flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt.  Mix the dry ingredients into the wet ingredients. Stir in the chips. Refrigerate the dough for 2 hours.

Heat the oven to 350 degrees. Form the dough into 1-inch balls, then roll them in powdered sugar. Bake the cookies on an ungreased baking sheet for 10 minutes. Set the baking sheet on a wire rack for 5 minutes, then lightly dust them with the remaining powdered sugar. Transfer cookies to the cooling rack.  Makes 4 dozen.

Tags: , , , , ,

4 Responses to “The Search For Chocolate Perfection (in a cookie)”

  1. youngwifey Says:

    These would be great with dark chocolate baking powder!!!

  2. lynne Says:

    These look delicious!

    My favorite cookie recipe, ever, is this (we make them at least once a week for school lunches):

    http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Best-Big-Fat-Chewy-Chocolate-Chip-Cookie/Detail.aspx

    we cut the baking time in half to just 10 minutes and they are SO FANTASTIC the next day…incredibly soft. Something about melting the butter, and I think using 1 egg plus an egg yolk…

  3. Carrie Says:

    These are very difficult to make. and not easy or fast in any way.

  4. Liz Says:

    Thanks for sharing this recipe! I’ve been looking for a chocolate cookie recipe that involves powdered sugar but not those cake mix cookies… Must try this!

Leave a Reply

